29/06/2020 15:00:35

Argentina: Premier League Nations

Continuing our alphabetical world tour, next up is Argentina. A footballing powerhouse, Argentina are 14-time champions of South America and two-time champions of the world. According to the Premier League website, 71 players have represented Argentina in the Premier League.

First Players – Juan Cobian (Sheffield Wednesday; 1998-99) and Horacio Carbonari (Derby County; 1998-2002)

Not one Argentine appeared in the Premier League in its first six seasons, but two players made their debuts on the opening day of the 1998/99 season.

Even Wednesday fans would be hard-pressed to remember Cobian, who made just nine league appearances in a single season at Hillsborough. Carbonari became a fan favourite at Derby over a four-year spell littered with brilliant goals from defence.

Most Appearances: Pablo Zabaleta – 303 (Manchester City, West Ham; 2008-present)

Arguably the best right-back of the previous decade, Pablo Zabaleta won the Premier League twice with Manchester City before swapping Manchester for London in 2017.

Zabaleta scored the first goal in City’s famous 3-2 victory over QPR on the final day of the 2011/12 season, one of his nine Premier League goals.

He featured in the PFA team of the year on one occasion, in 2012/13. With his current deal at West Ham set to end this summer, Covid-19 may have brought a premature end to Zabaleta’s time in England.

Top scorer: Sergio Agüero – 180 (Manchester City; 2011-present)

Could it be anyone else? Another Manchester City legend, Sergio Agüero, is the top-scoring Argentinian in the history of the Premier League.

Only four men have scored more, and Agüero looked certain to become the first non-English player to pass 200 up until the league’s suspension.

Despite scoring 20 or more goals for the last five seasons, Agüero has only won the Premier League Golden Boot on one occasion; in 2014/15.

Current Players

The following 15 players have appeared for Argentina in the 2019/20 Premier League season so far:

Sergio Agüero, Nicolas Otamendi (both Manchester City), Emiliano Buendia (Norwich), Willy Caballero (Chelsea), Federico Fernandez (Newcastle), Juan Foyth, Paulo Gazzaniga, Erik Lamela, Giovani Lo Celso (all Spurs) Manuel Lanzini, Pablo Zabaleta (West Ham), Alexis Mac Allister (Brighton), Roberto Pereyra, Ignacio Pussetto (both Watford) and Marcos Rojo (Manchester United).


A miserable Ipswich Town fan.

Leroy Sane has completed his move to Bayern Munich for £54.8m🔵🔴 (@SkySportsNews)

3 - 2019-20 is the 3rd of the last 6 @premierleague seasons to see the title decided in a match played at Stamford Bridge (Chelsea v C Palace in 2014-15 and v Spurs in 2015-16), and the 4th of those 6 to do so in a game involving Chelsea (also WBA v Chelsea in 2016-17). Deja-vu.


Only authorized users can comment.

Only authorized users can comment.

Top best predictors
1 Vettel 2380
2 xylio 548
3 fedorm 459